Hanging on the Cliff of Truth

Jason’s a fine resemblance of a pretty man, that’s particularly tall and fair. Looks notorious at the same time. He doesn’t lay his eyes to women which makes him more attractive. I sat four chairs apart from him. He looks fairer than I thought. Suddenly embarassment fills me when I noticed that I was staring at him. If my mom was here, I would be automatically be laughed at for that was not the right way a woman should act. Back when I was 16, she told me that men were born to make the first move. And for us women, she said that we should be waiting for that time while we are finding our way to be successful on our chosen career.

I always, asked her “What if that the man wouldn’t come because it’s my destiny to look for him?

and then she would laugh and say, “My lovely little Brie, you’re so sweet and beautiful. Of course he will come. You don’t need to look for him.

Yes, mom was right. I faced the board fighting the urge to look at him. One by one, our classmates arrived. Well of course he was with Mico, Kevin, and Alex. Nothing’s new today.

“No Brie, your interest on him grew more.” my thoughts said.

“Shut up.” I mumbled to myself. Then Nancy looked at me disgusted.

“What?” she said.

“No, I was just talking to myself” I said to her.

“Stop drooling about Jason.”  Sammy said.

“Worth drooling for, is he?” Nancy replied.

“Stop it! He might hear you!” I said to them.

They started giggling and I started pinching them but it only made them laugh louder. The door opened. It was Carlo, Nancy’s boyfriend. He sat behind Nancy. Then Nancy stopped laughing. Carlo and Nancy were not that showy when it comes to their relationship. They don’t kiss, hug or chat long. Nancy’s quite conservative and Carlo’s fine with that. The only thing they showed off was, holding their hands during Biology class below the table where nobody would see. Though everbody knows about, and nobody had a problem with their relationship. Suddenly, I wish I could have that kind of relationship.

After 5 minutes, the teacher came announcing that there would be no class since he has a meeting to attend to. No class means, going home. Nancy would probably go to the church with Carlo. Sammy would be helpng her mom in their laundry shop business. I don’t know what she does there, but she said that it’s something about accounting so I didn’t mind.

It was 10 o’clock in the morning and I started putting my things in my locker. I think I’ll walk for today, it wasn’t that sunny. The sky was full of clouds but it didn’t look like it would rain. Perfect, I said to myself. Home was 8 blocks away from school so the distance is clearly not a problem. I walked slowly feeling like the sidewalk was my runway.

To be continued.

Leave a comment